Torchworked Glass Take Two

 

photo copyright meghan garner

Folks, let me tell ya – torchworking glass is intense.

It’s like slamming 10 espresso shots. It’s like jumping out of an airplane. It’s like rafting over a waterfall. Actually, it’s like slamming 10 espresso shots immediately before jumping out of a plane, landing in a river, and rafting over a waterfall.

Put it this way: when I turned the torch off and stepped away (after what felt like 10 minutes and was actually 2 hours), I went and drank a double shot mocha to calm myself down.

 

I feel exhausted, but I also feel a real sense of accomplishment. I had a few mishaps, and I’m not ready to show the finished product to the world yet. But, on the whole, I learned a lot and could see marked improvement from my first bead to my fifth (and final). Plus, I had a great time.

my awesome husband playing with molten glass. photo copyright meghan garner

I let my hubby try his hand at it after dinner. He had a great time, too. Don’t worry, Mom – we have a fire extinguisher.

This entry was posted in In the Studio and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Torchworked Glass Take Two

  1. Can’t wait to see the results!

  2. Janice says:

    Oooooooo! I got gut cramps from your description!! Have fun!

  3. Sonja says:

    Wow…you excite me!!! And how awesome it must be that your husband shares in your adventures:)

Leave a Reply

