Creating Action – Part Two

image courtesy of tara gentile

As many of you know, I’m blogging through my experience with Tara Gentile’s 8-part course, Creating Action. If you missed some or all of the earlier posts, catch up here:

Creating Action – Intro

Creating Action – Part One

Today, we’re on to:

Assignment 2: Action is Dirty

The focus of today’s lesson is, as the title suggests, action, and it begins with the following anecdote:

“On Saturday, I was listening to my local NPR station and caught a piece of the weekly organic gardening program. A caller said to the host, “I just have no idea how you know all the things you know.”

The host explained that he was self-taught and also did a stint as the editor of an organic gardening magazine.

He said the best way to learn about organic gardening is to “to get some dirt under your nails.”

If you ask me, this is the best way to achieve just about anything.”

The trouble with action is that it’s vague. Think about it – when’s the last time your house got really clean, or the laundry got completely done, or you finally got around to trying that new recipe? Probably the same time that some large task was staring you in the face and you didn’t want to deal with it.

We are masters at creating the wrong kind of action.

We procrastinate, and more often than not it’s because of fear. For me, it’s the fear that I won’t be able to complete a challenging project, or translate a specific artistic vision into reality. For you it may be something different, but I bet the root cause is the same:

I’m afraid of failure, so I put off trying.

So what is my response to today’s lesson? I need to quit letting myself get away with using “preparation” as an excuse not to act. Oddly, it’s a lesson I’ve learned before, but one for which I need constant reminders: Don’t be the lady who couldn’t purl. In other words, dive in. Refuse to listen to the fear. Welcome the challenge. Tara hammers this point home in today’s lesson:

“Want to learn how to paint? Paint. Want to make jewelry? Make jewelry. Want to write? Write. Want to climb a mountain? Climb. Consider what you’ve been putting off because you don’t know “how.” Then just do it. Give it a try. Worst case scenario: you learn something because you failed. Score.”

So, friends, what have you been putting off out of fear? What have you been preparing for but never actually doing?

My list is absurdly huge – approaching galleries with my work, soliciting home parties, trying several specific techniques – so I’m choosing to focus on one at a time. First up is working with a new formula of base metal clays. I’ve got a pile of materials sitting in my studio that have been there for months, and I’m finally going to use them. This week. I’ll blog about it, too, so if you don’t see it show up feel free to call me out on it!

What task will you tackle this week?


This entry was posted in Being an Artist, Creating Action Series, Running a Small Business. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Creating Action – Part Two

  1. Pingback: Torchwork Glass | Sophistique Jewelry

  2. kharmon says:

    I tackled blogging this week. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Creating Action – Part Three | Sophistique Jewelry

Leave a Reply

