Home Again, Home Again, Jiggity Jig

Well, I’m back from my Certification class. It was unbelievably fun! The photo to the left shows one of the projects we did in our two-day class – this one was meant to teach enameling and gold paste. We also studied stone setting for stones that can’t be fired in place (ie: can’t survive the heat of the kiln, so have to be set in an embedded bezel) and finishing. Plus, our wonderful teacher threw in lots of “extras” and taught us how to do tons of things that weren’t necessarily on the curriculum. I learned so much, and can’t wait to get started using it!

 

Unfortunately, I’m out of clay, so instead I’m spending the next few days anxiously awaiting my new supplies. Tons of texture sheets are headed my way as well (teach had tons of tips on where to find great ones!) so when everything finally arrives, I’ll probably hole myself away for a few days and create like mad!

In other news, I’ve finally started planning out lessons for intro PMC classes. The first one will be at the local bead shop, and I’m thinking I’ll teach a bracelet project: we’ll make the clasp and a few focal beads out of PMC and string with gems from the shop. I’m making a sample bracelet now (using the last of my clay, and a clasp that I made at the class this past weekend) to see if it’s a good project for beginners. If you’re in the south bend area and you’d be interested in taking an intro class, please let me know! I’d be happy to tailor a class to a specific project you have in mind.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

